Jul 17, 2015

Blog Tour & Review -- Playing With Fire by Lexi Ryan

Adult Contemporary Romance
Release: July 7, 2015


Dr. Phoenix Reid isn't who she seems...

Everyone knows a phoenix rises from the ashes. What they don't talk about are the people she drags with her into the fire.

I thought one hot night with Max Hallowell was harmless. I never expected it would force me to face my past or bring back the man who swore he'd never let me go. Now Max wants to help me. Wants to save me. But if I let him, he'll be destroyed. I can already smell the flames. 

A woman with a secret past. A man determined to protect her. A dangerous passion that could cost them both everything.


I received an ARC for an honest review.

Whew! What a ride. I've wanted Nix's story since we met her in Hanna's book, and who wouldn't want Max's story? And I'm glad we got them together. Hehe. :)

I enjoyed the push and pull between these two. I don't love misunderstandings in books, but this was more than that. This felt like life or death, and Max is a great dude for not wanting to give up on her. The whole time, I just wanted everything to work out, and it kept me turning pages pretty quickly, so my interest was more than held. Overall, I really enjoyed this one as the layers were unpeeled and we learned more and more about Nix's past (as well as Max's). I also loved that we got more updates on the rest of the characters we love from the previous series. Yay! <3

I did think that some parts were convenient. Meredith's request (and ultimate decision) aided in everything working out too perfectly, and the climax of action seemed rather fast. And Cade. Hmm. I was never totally sure what to make of him. I guess good things, as his book is next. :)

Playing with Fire is the first in a new series of standalone novels featuring the New Hope characters Lexi Ryan fans have come to love. While you wait for Nix and Max's storyexplore Love Unbound, the collection of books set in Lexi's New Hope world. 
*Note: Each series can be read on its own, but for the chronology purists, the reading order is below.

Love Unbound: Splintered Hearts

Unbreak Me (Maggie’s story)
Stolen Wishes: A Wish I May Prequel Novella (Will and Cally’s prequel)
Wish I May (Will and Cally’s novel)
Or read them together in the omnibus edition, Splintered Hearts: The New Hope Trilogy

Love Unbound: Here and Now

Lost in Me (Hanna’s story begins)
Fall to You (Hanna’s story continues)

All for This (Hanna’s story concludes)

Or read them together in the omnibus edition, Here and Now: The Complete Series

Love Unbound: Reckless and Real

Something Wild (Liz and Sam’s story begins)
Something Reckless (Liz and Sam’s story continues)

Something Real (Liz and Sam’s story concludes)

Love Unbound: Mended Hearts

Playing with Fire (Nix’s story)

About the Author

New York Times and USA Today bestselling romance author Lexi Ryan’s novels have been described as intense, emotional, and wickedly sexy. A former college professor, she now writes full-time from her home in Indiana, where she lives with her husband, two children, and a neurotic dog. Find her on Facebook or Twitter to chat about books, TV, and her children’s latest antics.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! It means a lot!! Happy Reading!!